There are some new changes coming to California regarding smoke detectors, and if you own a rental property, you need to know about them.

As of January 1, 2016, you are required to have a 10-year life lithium battery smoke detector. You’ll need to replace any other smoke detectors in your rental home with this type of detector. It’s actually a good thing for landlords and Pleasanton property management companies because it creates lower maintenance. You will not have to change the batteries in smoke detectors every year, and your tenants won’t have to worry about changing them either.

Another benefit to these smoke detectors is that it’s easy to remember when they were installed. They have a spot right on the detector where you 2016 Smoke Detector Laws Every California Landlord Must Know – Pleasanton Property Managementcan write in a date. This helps you to remember when the smoke detector was installed, and within 10 years you will know that you’ll need to replace it.

If you have any questions regarding these smoke detector requirements for your rental properties, please contact us at Action 1 Property Management. We would be happy to help you make sure all of your properties are in compliance.

Posted by: Patty on December 8, 2015